ASNC's Choosing Wisely Challenge 2018

Win up to $3,000 and Advance Your Field!



ASNC’s Nuclear Cardiology Choosing Wisely® Challenge is a competition designed to help our members:

  • Share your most creative practice innovations and technology solutions 
  • Support the growth of your specialty 
  • Earn cash prizes and advance your career 
"A lot of the objectives of the ASNC Choosing Wisely® campaign greatly appealed to us: The patient-centered approach, enhancing communications with referring physicians, reducing risk, in general, to the patient, really made us want to participate."- Sarah Cuddy, MB, BCh, BAO explaining why Brigham and Women’s Boston participated in ASNC's Choosing Wisely® Challenge.

It builds on the success of the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation’s Choosing Wisely® Campaign and its goal to promote conversations between clinicians and patients that help them collaboratively choose care that is supported by evidence, not duplicative of other tests or procedures already received, free from harm and truly necessary. 

Thanks to our sponsor Bracco Diagnostics Inc.


The objective of ASNC’s Nuclear Cardiology Choosing Wisely® Challenge is to identify practice innovations and new technology solutions that support: 
  • Implementation of appropriate use 
  • Optimizing radiation dose
  • Enhanced communications with referring clinicians. 


ASNC will award three prizes based on the most innovative, creative ideas and implementable plans:
1st Prize -  $3,000; 2nd Prize -  $2,500; 3rd Prize - $1,000
The three finalists will be invited to present their solutions to a live viewing audience and an evaluation panel at ASNC2018, Sept. 6-9, in San Francisco, Calif. All parties submitting agree to pay their own expenses to ASNC18 and underwrite any related presentation materials, should their submission be selected for presentation. 
ASNC will promote the finalists in the ASNC2018 Final Program, in the Journal of Nuclear Cardiology, in media releases, and in ASNC member communications including ASNC’s social media channels. Participants may be asked at a later date to provide a brief summary and/or video describing their solution, which will be posted publicly on ASNC’s Nuclear Cardiology Choosing Wisely® Challenge portal.


All submission materials must be submitted online by May 31, 2018, MIDNIGHT (EST).

To access the application form, you must register at the site and create an account. Then, log in and create/select from the drop down list Choosing Wisely® Challenge form. Incomplete submissions will not be accepted.


  1. Submissions are encouraged to be patient centered, team-based projects—e.g., projects delivered by a partnership between industry and an academic lab, a private practice office and a software developer, or a team of researchers working with a lab(s) to demonstrate a novel idea.
  2. Submissions may be in the concept phase or already in practice.  However, they must present an original idea or offer an innovative adaptation or approach to a current application, protocol or procedure that relates directly to nuclear cardiology.
  3. All submissions should have evidence of a fully thought out concept or partial execution of concept. Such evidence may include research findings, documentation of time or cost savings, documentation of improved patient safety, a prototype of a program or technology, or any other relevant information.
  4. Submissions should include approaches and ideas that support the Choosing Wisely objectives within one of the following core areas:
  • Development of communication channels with referring physicians to improve rate of appropriate referrals
  • Implementation and use of Appropriate Use Criteria and new patient/test selection technologies which demonstrates reduced rates of inappropriate imaging in asymptomatic, low risk patients
  • Innovative implementation of quality improvement and patient safety tools and resources (i.e. ImageGuide Registry, ASNC guidelines) to enhance outcomes and improve patient safety via appropriate test and protocol selection and criteria; radiation dose optimization, etc.  
  1. A submission proposal, not to exceed 1900 words, should contain:
  • List of team members, noting who is an ASNC member
  • Introduction (outline the problem)
  • Solution or proposed solution
  • Outcome measures, such as research findings
  • What was the most interesting or surprising thing you learned in the process?
  • What were / are the major roadblocks or difficulties you faced during the process?
  • How could this process or product change the field of nuclear cardiology?
  • Ideas of how this idea could be implemented elsewhere – scalability

Thanks to those that took the 2017 challenge!

Winning submissions support ASNC’s goal of encouraging the right test for the right patient at the right time and were presented at ASNC2017.

1st Place: Advanced Protocol Planning in Nuclear Cardiology to Enhance Care DeliveryBrigham & Women's Boston: Sarah Cuddy, MB, BCh, BAO, Yin Ge, MD, Ron Blankstein, MD, FASNC, Marcelo Di Carli, MD,Sharmila Dorbala, MD, MPH, FASNC

2nd Place: A Simplified Approach to Stress-First Nuclear Myocardial Perfusion Imaging: Implementation of ASNC Choosing Wisely Recommendations- Malcom Randall – VAMC – Univ. Florida Gainesville: Randy Jeffrey MD, David E. Winchester MD, FASNC, David C. Wymer MD, Vicente Taasan MD   

3rd Place: Minimizing Radiation Exposure from Myocardial Perfusion Imaging- Aurora Cardiovascular Services – Milwaukee WI: Debra Mahlum, CNMT; Maureen Van der Kooy, CNMT; Steven Port, MD

JUDGES: Raymond R. Russell, III, MD, PhD, MASNC, Renee Bullock-Palmer, MD, FASNC, Maria G. Sciammarella, MD, and Rami Doukky, MD, FASNC