ASNC Congratulates 2019 Awardees

At the ASNC2019 Scientific Sessions, ASNC was honored to recognize the following recipients of Society awards and accomplishments.

18th Annual Mario Verani Memorial Lecturer                                       
John Mahmarian, MD, MASNC 

ASNC Leadership Award for 2019 


Rob S.B. Beanlands, MD, MASNC

ASNC Distinguished Service Awards for 2019
Jeroen Bax, MD, PhD, MASNC                                                K. Lance Gould, MD, MASNC 

William D. Nelligan, III, MASNC

Distinguished Career Achievement

Pamela S Douglas, MD
2019 Masters of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology (MASNC)

Jeroen Bax, MD, PhD, MASNC
Rob S.B. Beanlands, MD, MASNC
James Case, PhD, MASNC
Marcelo Di Carli, MD, MASNC
K. Lance Gould, MD, MASNC
Rory Hachamovitch, MD, MASNC
2019 Fellows of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology (FASNC)

Mahmoud Abdelghany, MD, FASNC
Osama Alsara, MD, FASNC
Martin Dawson, MD, FASNC
Besian Liti, DO, FASNC
Ralph Nader, MD, FASNC
Marquand Patton, DO, FASNC
Lisa Pudusseri, DO, FASNC
Steven Raible, MD, FASNC
Terrence Ruddy, MD, FASNC
Bartolo Santiago-Delgado, MD, FASNC
Abdulbaset Sulaiman, MD, FASNC
Jean-Luc Urbain, MD, PhD, CPE, FASNC
Learn how you can apply for FASNC status.

2019 Journal of Nuclear Cardiology Awards
* Zaret-Beller Distinguished Service Award for Best Reviewer:
Kenneth Nichols, PhD

* Ken Brown Award for Best Editorial:
Catherine Gebhard, MD, PhD, for “Imaging of Cardiac Sympathetic Activity in Heart Failure: Not Out of the Woods Yet”

* Frans J. Th. Wackers Best Clinical Research Paper Award:
Saurabh Malhotra, MD, MPH, FASNC, Deepak K. Pasupula, MD, Ravi K. Sharma, MD, Samir Saba, MD, and Prem Soman, MD, PhD, MASNC, for “Relationship Between Left Ventricular Dyssynchrony and Scar Burden in the Genesis of Ventricular Tachyarrhythmia”

* Raymond J. Gibbons Best Basic Research Paper Award:
Carole de Vaugelade, MD, Charles Mesguich, MD, Karine Nubret, MD, Fabrice Camou, MD, Carine Greib, MD, Gael Dournes, MD, Frédéric Debordeaux, PharmD, Elif Hindie, PhD, Laurent Barandon, MD, PhD, and Ghoufrane Tlili, MD, for “Infections in Patients Using Ventricular-assist Devices: Comparison of the Diagnostic Performance of 18F-FDG PET/CT Scan and Leucocyte-labeled Scintigraphy”

* H. William Strauss Best Technical Research Paper:
Ran Klein, PhD, Adrian Ocneanu, MSc, Jennifer M. Renaud, MSc, Maria C. Ziadi, MD, Rob. S.B. Beanlands, MD, MASNC, and Robert A. deKemp, PhD, for “Consistent Tracer Administration Profile Improves Test–retest Repeatability of Myocardial Blood Flow Quantification with 82Rb Dynamic PET Imaging”

2019 IANC/ASNC Research Fellowship Award Recipient

Senthil Selvaraj, MD, for “Comparison of the Short-Term Effect of Dietary Carbohydrate Restriction Versus Exogenous Ketone Supplementation on Myocardial Glucose Suppression and Timing to Achieve a State of Ketosis Using Serial Imaging on a State-of-the Art Total-Body PET System” 

Winners of ASNC’s 2019 Choosing Wisely® Challenge
First Prize: Sudip Saha, MD, Joseph Lodato, MD, and Nancy Ortiz, MPH, CPHQ, PMP, for “Multi-pronged Approach to Optimize Nuclear Cardiology Testing and Improve Safety at Kaiser Permanente, Mid-Atlantic States”

Second prize: Benita Philip, DO, Barbara Schechter, DO, Denise Kale, CNMT, and Renee P. Bullock-Palmer, MD, FASNC, for “Development of a Patient-centered, Cost-effective Algorithm Utilizing 99mTechnetium-Pyrophosphate Imaging to Diagnose ATTR Cardiac Amyloidosis”

Third prize: Anirudh Kumar, MD, Paul Cremer, MD, Rory Hachamovitch, MD, MASNC, and Wael Jaber, MD, for “Impact of a Novel Myocardial Perfusion Imaging Risk-classification Scheme on Referral for Coronary Angiography, Revascularization and Mortality"

2019 ASNC Young Investigators Award Recipients
Basic Science Research: Kiran Gona, PhD
Clinical Research: Hendrik Harms, PhD
2019 Graduates of ASNC’s Leadership Development Program
Paul Cremer, MD
Nishant Shah, MD, MPH, FASNC
Richard Weinberg, MD, FASNC
ASNC’s Leadership Development Program is a three-year mentorship program developed to prepare future leaders of the society and the field of nuclear cardiology. Apply to participate.